Dark Places (Spintunes round 3 draft)

MAN:
lost downtown in the burning summer
wasted so many things all that year
oh oh
but I guess you’d know

WOMAN:
after all that we have been through
do you still feel the need to drag me down with you?
oh oh
well I guess so

W: but I told you
M: and I heard you
W: this is the last time
M: this is the last time
M: that I call after midnight

MAN:
headlights on an empty street
smile like you never knew me
like you don’t see right through this charade
WOMAN:
i’m not gonna pull you out this time
I’m not gonna be around
to see your bleeding heart on parade

MAN:
I guess I’ll just go missing
I can see it all shattered
stained glass that got dirty
and then got swept away

WOMAN:
I’m not playing this game
I was getting along fine
I wish you’d just leave
when I know you won’t stay

TOGETHER:
and the sirens
and the stars we can never see
and the silence
that follows us down the busy street
there’s no hiding
from the sliding back into day
WOMAN:
why do you like the night
so much anyway?

MAN:
sunrise on an empty street
smile like you never knew me
like you don’t see right through this charade
WOMAN:
i’m not gonna pull you out this time
I’m not gonna be around
to see your bleeding heart on parade

WOMAN:
so tell me why the light takes you apart
the patterns I knew are only traces
MAN:
for all the world, I swear I’d love to make anew start
where I don’t always find truth in dark places

such dark places

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

